Program advisory committee meetings for nuclear physics and for materials and life experiments

K. Yoneda,*1 K. Ishida,*1 H. Yamazaki,*1 N. Imai,*2 Y. X. Watanabe,*3 K. Yako,*2 Y. Hirayama,*3 and H. Ueno*1

The Program Advisory Committees (PAC) are in charge of reviewing the scientific proposals submitted for the use of the accelerator facility in the RIKEN Nishina Center (RNC). Two PAC meetings were held in fiscal year 2021; one for proposals in the field of nuclear physics (NP-PAC), and one for proposals in the field of materials and life sciences (ML-PAC).

NP-PAC

The 22nd NP-PAC meeting was held from December 1 to December 3, 2021, 1) with the attendance of 16 PAC members. As oversea travels were difficult due to COVID-19, the meeting was held online via Zoom. Before this NP-PAC meeting, seven PAC members were replaced. The new members are: S. Grevy (CENBG), M. Dasgupta (The Australian National University), J. Dilling (Oak Ridge National Laboratory), M. Gorska (GSI), T. Kawabata (Osaka University), M. Matsuo (Niigata University), R. Zegers (Michigan State University). M. J. G. Borge from CSIC, Madrid, had newly taken on the role of chairperson of the meeting. 31 proposals were reviewed, and 1 proposal and 13 proposals were approved as grade S and A, respectively. The outcome of the NP-PAC meeting is summarized in Table 1.

Table 1. Summary of the outcome of the 22nd NP-PAC meeting. The proposals ranked as S and A are treated as "approved" proposals.

22nd NP-PAC (December 1–3, 2021)			
	requested	approved	
	proposals (days)	proposals (days)	
GARIS	3 (39)	1 (25)	
CRIB (AVF)	2 (19)	0 (0)	
RRC	1 (8)	1 (8)	
KISS	1 (5)	1 (5)	
BigRIPS/ZD	12(97.5)	7 (55.5, inc. 11 of "S")	
SHARAQ/OEDO	1(9.5)	1 (2)	
Rare RI Ring	2 (36)	0 (0)	
SAMURAI	10 (92)	3 (22.5)	
LOI	1 (-)	- (-)	
Total	31 (306)	14 (93)	

The members of 22nd NP-PAC are as follows: M. J. G. Borge (CSIC, Madrid, the chair), N. Aoi (RCNP, Osaka University), R. Charity (Washington University in St. Louis), G. Martinez-Pinedo (TU Darmstadt/GSI), I. Moore (University of Jyvaskyla), T. Saito (RIKEN), P. J. Woods (University of Edingurgh), A. Vitturi (University of Padova), X. Zhou (Chinese Academy of Science), J. Dilling (Oak Ridge National Laboratory), M. Dasgupta (The Australian National University), M. Gorska (GSI), S. Grevy (CENBG), T. Kawabata (Osaka University), M. Matsuo (Niigata University), R. Zegers (Michigan State University).

ML-PAC The 21st ML-PAC meeting was held via email review, from December 9, 2021 to January 4, 2022.²⁾ At that time there was no call for proposals for RIKEN-RAL due to the planned long shutdown of ISIS. Three proposals for the RIBF facility were reviewed, and two proposals were approved as grade A. The outcome of this meeting is summarized in Table 2.

Table 2. Summary of the outcome of the 21st ML-PAC meetings. The RIBF proposals ranked as A are treated as "approved" proposals.

21st ML-PAC (December 2021–January 2022)		
requested		approved
	proposals (days)	proposals (days)
RAL	no call	-
RIBF	3 (10)	2 (7)

The members of the 21st ML-PAC are as follows: A. Hillier (ISIS, RAL, the chair), Y. Kobayashi (The University of Electro-Communications), Y. Miyazawa (Yamagata University), T. Takayanagi (Saitama University), and Z. Qin (Chinese Academy of Sciences).

References

- https://www.nishina.riken.jp/RIBF/NP-PAC/index. html.
- 2) https://www.nishina.riken.jp/RIBF/ML-PAC/index. html.

^{*1} RIKEN Nishina Center

^{*2} Center for Nuclear Study, University of Tokyo

^{*3} Wako Nulcear Science Center, Institute of Particle and Nuclear Studies, KEK